GIBSON LEAVING THE BUCKEYES CHEKWA AND HEYWARD STAYING

Posted: January 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

BUCKS

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Defensive lineman Cameron Heyward and cornerback Chimdi Chekwa announced this afternoon that they will both stay at Ohio State for their senior seasons.

A statement from Heyward:

“I am excited about next season and am looking forward to being one of the senior leaders of our team. I sat down and talked at length with my family about my situation, and they totally support my decision. I’ve been blessed to this point. I am just having fun being a college student.

“I learned a lot from seniors like Doug (Worthington) and Kurt (Coleman) and all they were able to accomplish during their senior year. I would love to be a part of Buckeye tradition like that. I think the upside is very positive.

“I want to help our team achieve the goals of winning another Big Ten title and possibly accomplishing a national championship. If I could win some recognition, that would be great as well. I think I can be a leader for our team, and I know another season will help me become a better player.”

Heyward, a product of Peachtree Ridge High School in Suwanee, Ga., has recorded 115 tackles during his three-year career. The all-Big Ten selection led the Rose Bowl champion Buckeyes with 7.5 sacks this season, along with 11 TFL and a fumble recovery. He was named Big Ten player of the week versus Penn State, when he had 11 tackles, three TFL and two sacks. Heyward, who recovered a fumble for a touchdown against Michigan, has made 33 career starts for Ohio State. He is scheduled to graduate in spring, 2011, with a bachelor’s degree in human development.

CHEKWA

“I am not ready to leave Ohio State, and I am looking forward to my senior season. I prayed about this decision and talked about it with my parents, and I know this is the right decision for me.

“I will graduate next fall, and I am looking forward to being a leader on what can be a very special defense for the Buckeyes. After the Rose Bowl win, we are working toward accomplishing more great things, including another Big Ten title and a run at the national championship.”

Chekwa, a product of East Ridge High School in Clermont, Fla., has recorded 103 tackles during his three-year career. The honorable mention all-Big Ten selection led the Rose Bowl champion Buckeyes with seven pass breakups this season, along with an interception.

Chekwa, who also was part of the Buckeyes’ 2009 Big Ten champion 4×100 relay team, has made 27 career starts for Ohio State. A member of the Big Ten all-academic team, he is scheduled to graduate in December with a bachelor’s degree in accounting.

Leave a Reply

